|Drawing its origins from XIII century, the castle is located on the piedmontese hills of Roero-Langhe, worldwide celebrated for the excellent cuisine and superb wines. In the early XVII century, the place came to counts Beraudo di Pralormo, whose family still now permanently inhabit the castle.The castle must surely have existed before the year 1200 as one of the fortified places wich abounded in the Piedmont of feudal times. During centuries, to the original square nucleus others parts were added and among these, two round towers on the east wing and the chapel in the 18th century. The present layout dates back to the first half of 19th century. It stands as witness to the important work carried out by Count Carlo Beraudo di Pralormo – Minister of Finance and Interior during the reign of King Carlo Alberto di Savoia, and sole lord of the castle since 1830.The inner courtyard of the castle was given a roof and transformed into a great new-classical hall, on the design of architect Mellano; the portico with an overhanging terrace and the large marble staircase of the main entrance were added by filling up the surrounding moat and closing up the draw-bridge entrance.On the north west corner a castle keep was also begun and an English-style park with forest trees was laid out. The interior too, was almost entirely renovated in order to give back to the building the unity of character lost through successive estate divisions. Beside the grand hall already mentionned, the castle’s attractions include an extremely well-stocked library and a hall entirely floored with 18th century blue Piedmontese majolica.Visiting the castle: discovering the backstage of nobility’s art of banqueting
The visits start from the historical caves and winery, the pantry and the impressing lively kitchens reaching then the heart of the castle: a sumptuous hall, a cozy boudoir and an elegant dining room. There, on two dining tables precious table-cloths, ancient silverware,finest crystal and bone-china table sets are ready to delight the guests with their rare refinement.
|Opening||April – October (August closed)
Individuals: every sunday 10-18
Groups over 15 people: every day 10-18 every day, booking is necessary.
Visit is possible in foreign language (French and English), ask at least one month in advance.
|Main Event||MISTER TULIP in the historical park of the Castle|
|A real must for the month of april is the historical park full of tulips, over 75.000 of them in fact, all flowering together to announce the arrival of spring: the event is so-called MISTER TULIP. Tulips bloom in the historical park which was the project of royal architect Xavier Kurten, the alleys of the historical park cross large coloured fields and an ancient path brings the visitors to discover the most extraordinary tulips’ varieties. Walking through tulips-fields in the English garden of Pralormo in the scent of roses, lilacs and peonies, disclose the coloured fascinating world of tulip turning a relaxing country day into an unforgettable experience. MISTER TULIP includes lots of interesting and entertaining features such as guided walks and conversations, tastings, events, botanical workshops, children’s games and cookery courses.|
|Opening||April: Every day. Monday-Friday 10-18; Saturday and Sunday 10-19|
|Other events||EVENING TOURS, VISITS AND TASTING OF TYPICAL PRODUCTS, SPECIAL EVENTS.|
|Tickets||Mister Tulip exhibition
€ 8 Adult,€ 6,5 groups over 15 people and Torino+Piemonte Card,
€ 4 Children 4/12 years,
free until 4 years
€ 8 Adult,
€ 6,5 groups over 15 people and Torino+Piemonte Card,
€ 4 Children 4/12 years,
free until 4 years.
Tours in english and french available, booking is necessary (extra charge)